What is the European Union?

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union between 27 European countries. People can travel freely throughout most of the continent and it has become much easier to live and work in another country in Europe. All EU citizens have the right and freedom to choose in which EU country they want to study, work or retire.

Visit the European Union website

What is the Erasmus+ Program?

Erasmus+ is the EU Programme to support education, training, youth and sport in Europe. With a total budget of €14.7 billion, it will provide opportunities for over 4 million Europeans to study, train, gain work experience or volunteer in another country. Erasmus+ also enhances the opportunities for cooperation and mobility with Partner Countries (such as Australia), notably in the fields of higher education and youth. The European Commission has proposed to double funding for Erasmus to €30 billion in the next long-term EU budget (2021 to 2027).

Visit the Erasmus+ program website

What is a Jean Monnet module?

A Jean Monnet Module is a short teaching programme (or course) in the field of European Union studies at a higher education institution. Each Module has a minimum duration of 40 teaching hours per academic year and must focus on one particular discipline in European studies or be multidisciplinary requiring the academic input of a number of academic experts.

Visit the Jean Monnet modules website

The European Commission support for the production of this website does not constitute an endorsement of the contents which reflects the views only of the authors, and the European Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.

Erasmus+ programme logo