Project team

  • Professor Patrick Griffin, Director, Assessment Research Centre
  • Associate Professor Esther Care, Deputy Director, Assessment Research Centre
  • Michael Francis, Teaching Specialist, Assessment Research Centre
  • Danielle Hutchinson, Teaching Specialist, Assessment Research Centre
  • Alejandra Arratia Martinez, Research Officer and Doctoral Candidate, Assessment Research Centre
  • Carolyn McCabe, Literacy Expert, Catholic Education Office Melbourne


  • Tony Flack, Latrobe Valley Teaching and Learning, DEECD, Victoria
  • Phil McKenzie, Research Officer, Assessment Research Centre

Reading comprehension working group

  • Angela Savaglio, Dandenong South Primary School
  • Christine Backman, Drouin Secondary College
  • Faye Walters, Araluen Primary School
  • Janet Gale, Camberwell Primary School
  • Julienne Legione, Billanook Primary School
  • Kate Mitchell, Auburn Primary School
  • Lauren Clapperton, Drouin Secondary College
  • Malissa Nicol, Alberton Primary School
  • Marcia Lane, Auburn Primary School
  • Michael Puddy, Mt Evelyn Primary School
  • Simon Prior, Buxton Primary School
  • Renata Tirabassi, Preston Girls Secondary College
  • Skye Cameron, Yarra Hills Secondary College
  • Sue Wernert, Tallangatta Secondary College

Numeracy working group

  • Carole Mayes, Tyabb Railway Station Primary School
  • Emma Slater, Tyabb Railway Station Primary School
  • Hugh Greer, South Eastern Victorian Region
  • Helen Warnod, Camberwell Primary School
  • Jacqui Veal, Tallangatta Secondary College
  • Joan Keil, Stratford Primary School
  • Karen Dierickx, Yarram Secondary College
  • Meredith Clegg, Hume Central Secondary College
  • Martin Heppell, Auburn Primary School
  • Michelle Reid-Metcalf, Kurnai College
  • Nyssa Beebe (nee James), Kurnai College
  • Philip Comport, Mt Evelyn Primary School
  • Peggy Mourelatos, Camberwell Primary School
  • Vanda Camm, Mt Evelyn Primary School